Is that a blue dot on your butt?

Wifey went to the Dr on Thursday and they told her she had over 15 follicles.  They gave her all the measurements but of course she didn’t write them down, and honestly we don’t care as long as there are some good eggs in there.  They told her, her estrogen was out of control and for us to cut back our injections from a dosage of 150 to 75 on Friday and Saturday and for her to come into the office on Sunday.

All this week she has been feeling bloated.  Her ovaries are about to explode.  It isn’t so much as pain she says, but just a full or conspitated feeling.  She was so uncomfortable that I had to do a manual release on Friday as per Doctors orders with no help from my mate 😦  There is nothing worse than heading to the bathroom to take care of business and coming back to your wife saying, wow, that was pretty quick.  I guess my bruised ego isn’t as bad as all the shots she has to take, which still have had no side-effects.

So on Sunday, she goes to the Dr and they take a look inside and were pleasantly surprised.  She is doing great, and they told her to take the trigger shot at 9pm that same day, but rather than 2ccs, to take 1cc since she has so much estrogen.  This is the needle she has been fearing.  It is 1 1/2 inches long and a 18 gauge and goes right into the rump, right in the muscle.  She has really been scared about this shot, and I have been nervous because it is so big, and the timing is critical.

About 30 minutes before the shot, I did all the preparation, mixed it all up, etc.  I went into the bedroom and prepared the area.  Turned on lights so I could see what I was doing, studied the diagram of where to put the shot from the Doctors office, and psyched myself up.  I called me wife in 5 minutes before the shot and had her lay on her tummy on the bed.  I looked on her tushy and I saw this little blue dot on her butt, exactly where I was going to do the injection.  The backstory of this dot is that as a child, my wifes sister was chasing her with a super sharp pencil and when they collided the lead or graphite from the pencil embedded itself in her butt.  The dot has never gone away, and it just so happens it was in the exact right spot.  I thought of it as a sign, a positive one.  It almost brought me to tears.

Anyway, she lay on her belly and I took an ice pack and applied it to the blue dot for 5 minutes.  When the clock struck 9pm, I took off the ice pack, rubbed some alcohol on the area, closed my eyes (kinda sorta) and pushed that needle down, what I thought was hard.  What they don’t prepare you for is that skin is freaking thick, and it takes a lot of force to get a needle in there, and muscle is tough, so you gotta really work hard at it if you don’t jab it in all the way the first time.  I looked up at her and asked if she was ok.  She didn’t even flinch.  “Did you inject it yet” she asked.  Wow!! She didn’t even feel the needle prick, due to her tottally numb ass.  I got the entire needle in, drew back to check for blood, and injected away.  Pulled the needle out, and gave her a kiss.  Yes, on the blue dot 🙂  She never felt a thing.  The entire fear of this super long needle was for naught.

We head to the Dr tommorow at 7:45am for extraction and my specimen.  Wish us luck, hope we get some good eggies out of this.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

